WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

SPECIAL NOTICE 3y 26, 2002
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Estate Tax Filing Requirements - 2002

For deaths occurring after December 31, 2001, the state of Washington has different estate tax reporting
requirements than the federal government. The “Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of
2001" resulted in significant changes in federal estate tax law. Some states amended their estate tax
statutes to conform to the federal law, but Washington has not. Washington’s estate tax laws are
provided under Chapter 83.100 RCW. Our law references the Internal Revenue Code as it existed on
January 1, 2001, so Washington has different filing requirements than the federal government.

There are five mgjor differences between the reporting requirements under federal law and Washington’'s
law. These are:

1) In the year 2002, estates with a gross value between $700,000 and $999,999 must file an
estate tax return with the state of Washington, but are not required to file with the federal
government. Asillustrated in the table below, the reporting thresholds for both the state of
Washington and the federal government will change several times over the next few years.

2) The Washington estate tax is 100 percent of the available state credit, not the reduced percent
of state credit allowed by the federal government.

3) Washington uses adifferent unified credit than that credit currently allowed under federal law.
Thisis because Washington uses the unified credit as set forth in the Internal Revenue Code as of
January 1, 2001.

4) Washington will not be following the new federal generation-skipping transfer tax allocation
rules. Thisis because Washington must use the allocation rules set forth in the Internal Revenue
Code as it existed on January 1, 2001.

5) Washington will not allow the expanded definition of what land qualifies for aqualified
conservation easement. Again, thisis because Washington will use the definition of what land
qualifiesfor aqualified conservation easement as set forth in the Internal Revenue Code asiit
existed on January 1, 2001.

(more)
Washington State Department of Revenue . )
PO Box 47478 7 a Serving the People of Washington Prepared by the
Olympia, Washington 98504-7478 REVENUE Taxpayer Services Division

http://dor.wa.gov



Estate Tax Filing Requirements — 2002 Special Notice

Page 2

For 2002, the filing threshold for the state of Washington is $700,000. These filing thresholds will
increase several times over the next few years:

Existing Washington Law

Federal Reconciliation Act

Year State of State of % of State | Federal Filing Federal % of State
Washington Washington Credit Threshold Unified Credit | Credit Allowed
Filing Unified Credit | Payable to Under Under Under
Threshold 1/1/01 Law Washington | Reconciliation | Reconciliation | Reconciliation
1/1/01 Law 1/1/01 Law Act Act Act
2002 700,000 229,800 100% 1,000,000 345,800 75%
2003 700,000 229,800 100% 1,000,000 345,800 50%
2004 850,000 287,300 100% 1,500,000 555,800 25%
2005 950,000 326,300 100% 1,500,000 555,800 0%
2006 1,000,000 345,800 100% 2,000,000 780,800 0%
2007 1,000,000 345,800 100% 2,000,000 780,800 0%

The revised Washington State Estate Tax Return and instructions are available on the Department of
Revenue’s web site at: http://dor.wa.gov.

If you would like to receive future notifications about the tax return(s), law changes and other estate tax
news, please subscribe to our listserv e-mail service, Estate Tax Notifications at:
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/Contact/email/con_email listserv_app.asp?listtype=estate.

The interest rate for late payments in 2002 is seven percent. If you have any questions regarding this
information or other estate tax questions, please e-mail us at juliej@dor.wa.gov or phoebeh@dor.wa.gov
or contact the Estate Tax Section at (360) 753-5547 or (360) 753-7518.

To inquire about the availability of this document in an alternate format for the visually impaired,
please call (360) 486-2342. Teletype (TTY) users please call 1-800-451-7985.
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